making GNU screen, bash and vim work with a new X server

I want to keep GNU screen, with bash and vim, running nicely
when I start a new X server and the DISPLAY number changes.
(We are using Xming on Windows with a Linux server on the LAN).

There’s no ‘nice’ way to do this, as far as I can tell.

My hacky solution reloads DISPLAY from a file each time you press enter in bash,
and provides a :R = Restart() command in vim, so I can easily restart vim
with a new DISPLAY, but preserving the current session (files, windows, etc.).
It also provides a default –servername (process ID).

I’m somewhat embarrassed to post this!

details here:  http://sam.ai.ki/survive-X-crash.txt

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

